Life as a Durhamite: Balcony Garden!

2

May 3, 2014 by Natasha

_DSC0806rcrop1Hello, my friends!

It has been a while since I last posted, but I will be changing that now!

Since my last post, I have returned to North Carolina for a job and I now have my own place! I will post pictures of my apartment as soon as I have it finished to my liking. (There is no furniture yet. Hehe.) I miss writing updates like my “Life as a Washingtonian” series and I will be beginning a new set of blog postings. “My Life as a Durhamite” will be a chronicle of my adventures living in my second-home as an independent adult. Hope you enjoy my posts!

Now, just take a seat on your comfortable living room floor and welcome to my life as a Durhamite.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Well, last week Saturday, I visited a humanity school’s plant sale, and I purchased some herbs, fruits and vegetables! It was a wonderful experience supporting a local school here. I felt like a true Durhamite participating in the plant sale. I noticed the advertisement for the plant sale on the common refrigerator at work and I instantly added it to my calendar.

From the sale, I visited Home Depot and Big Lots with the remainder of my $50 budget to purchase soil, pots and trays. I then returned home, laid out my plastic tarp and with a green turning thumb and soil under my finger nails, my balcony garden was created! I now have oregano, lemon balm, german lunchbox tomato, cilantro, jalapeño, and strawberry plants living with me in my apartment.

It has been 7 days since I started my garden and today I harvested some of my lemon balm and oregano after a lovely brunch with one of my girl friends. I wanted to include you all in the experience of my first harvest!

These are photos of my babies and their tremendous improvement in only 5 days! I think they really like me. 🙂

Now it is Harvest Time!!!

I noticed after cutting the bigger leaves of the Mr. Lemon Balm that there were baby leaves coming out everywhere! Isn’t this so exciting?! I love awakening every morning and going to the balcony to see how my plants are doing. It is like I have a family living with me in this space. My job doesn’t really relate or feed my passion for nature so I feel that my garden is a step in the right direction. Mother Earth doesn’t feel too far away anymore.

I am so very excited for what the future has in store for all of us. I hope you enjoy this journey called life as much as I do! Thank you for joining me for my first post as a Durhamite Until we meet again, which will be very very soon, stay positive my friends!

 

P.S. Oh! I also created a Tumblr account a few months ago. It is new to me, but I try to post inspirational images and quotes. Please check it out if you have the time or any time you feel like you need a boost of optimism. You can find me here: www.positivelytasha.tumblr.com 

Much love, everyone.

BlackLogo

2 thoughts on “Life as a Durhamite: Balcony Garden!

  1. Marlene says:

    Way to go!!!

Leave a Reply

Post History

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow my blog and you will receive notifications of any new posts by email! Yays!

Join 10 other followers

