Life as a Durhamite: Socializing

Leave a comment

May 11, 2014 by Natasha

_DSC0806rcrop1Hello, friends!

It is kind of hard to believe that a week has already flown by! It is also equally difficult to comprehend that a year ago tomorrow, I walked into Wallace Wade Stadium and graduated with the class of 2013!! Many congratulations to the class of 2014! You made it!

This week was pretty chill, but some cool things definitely transpired but I forgot to take pictures with my phone! Whoops… I will remember next week. 🙂

Well grab a dining chair and sit on your balcony enjoying the weather and welcome to my life as a Durhamite.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

SAMSUNG

New glasses!

This week picked up my new glasses from the eye doctor! They fit so much better than the previous pair. They are lightly colored copper/golden hue, but I am growing accustomed to it. What do you think? 🙂

(I took this photo in the parking lot of the eye doctor. I do not photograph and drive, silly.)

 

 

– – – – – – – – – – Work, work, work… – – – – – – – – – –

I was able to get a new chair in my office. The old chair was absolutely too small for my long legs and had no armrests. My back was aching… With this new chair, my back is better! I have been forcing myself to relax my back and rest while I am on the computer.

It has a pink and green floral pattern! Doesn’t it suite me? Yay.

Office ChairSAMSUNG

I suppose this is a good time to talk about my job … Well, my position is a Clinical Trials Assistant. I work at the Duke Child and Family Study Center as a part of a research project named NICHES. It stands for *inhale* “Neurodevelopment and Improving Children’s Health following Environmental tobacco Smoke exposure.” Long name short, they are looking at second hand smoke and it’s relationship to ADHD in children during pregnancy and juvenile years.  My job is to recruit participants (mother, child pairs), run the cognitive assessments and collect blood and/or saliva samples. So … it isn’t really dream job or in my field of passion, but hey… I had to start somewhere.

 

– – – – – – – – – – Making a social life: – – – – – – – – – –

This week I decided to sign up for some groups on a socializing site named Meetup. I am very excited to begin attending events and meeting new people in new places.  I have also spoken to my local friends and we are planning get-togethers for the near future. Can’t wait!

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 6.14.26 PM

The past few Saturdays I have been meeting one of my girl friends for brunch and we are making it a weekly deal! This was our second time visiting a restaurant named Brigs at the Park. The food was lovely!

Today I ordered the Alaskan salmon sandwich and sweet potato french fries. Yum! To drink I had an Arnold Palmer (half iced tea, half lemonade).

SAMSUNG

After having a wonderful lunch we played some board games. Taboo, one of my absolute favorites, was so much fun. Our abs were killing us from laughing so hard and we were both having hot flashes. Hehehe. Good times…

– – – – – – – – – – Back to Nature – – – – – – – – – –

I decided to take some progress pictures of my babies on the balcony. It is truly magnificent that they have grown so much in 2 weeks. I check on them every day sometimes 5 times a day and when you are watching that closely, growth doesn’t seem to phase you.  Look at my darlings! (Click the picture to open the gallery view.)

I am so excited for my garden. Next plant to purchase would definitely be basil. I wonder if I could even do eggplant! The possibilities are truly endless! Hopefully, I can also decorate the balcony the way I have envisioned in my head. It will all come together in time!

Also, Ipromise to take more pictures of my happenings this week. Maybe I will attend one of my meetup group’s outings! That would be very exciting. I will let you know how it turns out! This week is also a paycheck week … now, isn’t that another reason to be happy?

Be on the lookout! Thanks for sticking with me.

Until later, my loves.

Remember that your light makes the world brighter. Be sure to let it shine!

xxoxo

BlackLogo

Leave a Reply

Post History

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow my blog and you will receive notifications of any new posts by email! Yays!

Join 10 other followers

